|We visited it with the musical accompaniment of an old accordion, wandering among the glass cases which display instruments of all epochs and coming from all countries. This Museum, however, is a source of pleasure not only due to its special atmosphere, in which human values are placed firmly at the core - for instance with the workbench transported here from a craftsman's shop together with all the tools, the pictures hanging on the wall, the photos of sports champions and actresses glued to the drawers to please the eye... What we also learn from this bench, from the signs in the air, from the talk of the people, is that every worker in this town has a vocation to become an entrepreneur." To introduce the "International Accordion Museum" in Castelfidardo I chose these extracts from the article written by the great Italian journalist Mario Salvatorelli after his visit to the Museum||
Handycraft workshop 1918/1955
|In this article, Salvatorelli captured perfectly the intentions of the founders of this museum (Beniamino Bugiolacchi for the Castelfidardo city council and Vincenzo Canali for the Pro-Loco association), which was inaugurated in 1981. The Museum set out not only to document the history of a musical instrument, but also to celebrate the workers and the many craftsmen and industrialists who contributed to produce a cultural transformation and revolutionise the economy of this area in the Marche region, for centuries solely dedicated to agriculture.|
Museum, currently lodged in the XVII century town hall, is slowly developing
into a centre for the study of the accordion and its culture. This institution
represents an effective teaching resource for it enables its visitors to
trace the evolution of the accordion through the observation of the instruments
and the photographic panels, as well as to come to know its most influential
exponents and the fascinating culture of the craftsmen that breathed life
into this world through a mixture of hard work, pride and innovation.
The collection is made up of about 300 different exhibits from 22 countries, including several unique pieces and the precious collection of Giuseppe Panini (an Italian entrepreneur famous for his production of picture cards and a great accordion enthusiast).
Museum hall B
First CD of the Series
"The Fathers of the Accordion"
dedicated to Pietro Deiro
|The museum also features the faithful reconstruction of a workshop dating back to the beginning of the 20th century.This fascinating journey begins from the Tscheng and moves on to Soprani's "du botte", Reisner's accordeon, Busson's Harmoniflute, the chromatic accordion with little mirrors made by Dallapé, the beautiful inlaid creations of Pasquale Ficosecco, the first Hohner models, the revolutionary innovations of Zoppichini and finally the instruments owned by Fancelli, Volpi, Deiro, Kramer, Piazzolla. The walls are adorned by a very interesting series of photographic documents covering the period from 1890 to 1970, as well as by copies of paintings by Giovanni Boldini, Fernand Leger, Gino Severini, Silvia Bugari and original paintings by Marc Chagal, Tonino Guerra, Rodolfo Gaspari. The rooms also contain sculptures by Stefano Pigini, Franco Campanari and Edgardo Mugnoz. The curiosities of the collection include a charming letter by Federico Fellini, the first album recorded with the accordion by Pietro Deiro, the original score of Piazzolla's "Adios Nonino", and much more.|
series of collections complement the museum's main exhibits. These include
musical boxes from the 18th and 19th centuries, Giancarlo Cocito's complete
collection of stamps featuring the accordion, an
iconographic collection consisting of around 600 objects and statuettes
donated by Armando Bugari and maintained by Beniamino Bugiolacchi, a collection
of coins and medals gathered by Giuseppe Mileti and a very peculiar series
of cinema posters. The Museum is one of the most visited institutions in
the Marche region (averaging around 12,000 people per year) and has received
accolades from critics and experts in major national and international newspapers,
as well as being featured in several programmes on Italian TV. Opening hours
are: every day from 10am to noon and from 3pm to 6pm. The Museum's catalogue,
souvenirs and very rare recordings on cassette and CD are sold in the hall.
The MUSEUM in facts (2008)
Arts Exposition: paintings, sculptures and graphics by:
“207 accordions temporarly exposed half of he year in the hall boccosi and the museum)
“accordions on stamps” by Giancarlo Cocito
“La musica nelle monete e nelle medaglie”
*”Accordion music sheets”
*“The music of the accordion”
*“Economical studies regarding the accordion market"